Somerleyton Primary School

EYFS- Early Years Foundation Stage

"Children make good progress in the Early Years Foundation Stage because adults provide an exciting and well planned range of activities" 

The Early Years Foundation Stage 

The Early Years Foundation Stage consists of seven areas of learning and development. Each one contains a number of 'Early Learning Goals' which set out what most children are expected to achieve by the end of the reception year in school, and broad stages of development which help show children's progress towards the goals.

Children should develop the three prime areas first. These are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child's healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design.

At Somerleyton Primary school we use Tapestry to record and monitor development with these early learning goals:

  Somerleyton School EYFS Policy

Our Early Years Curriculum

eyfs topics28 4 23.pdf






 Parents Welcome Presentation


eyfs welcome presentation website version.pdf


 Parent Support & Information


 Useful Websites & Phonics help